Team, Ultimate and Enterprise editions
Get in touch with Sales for licensing questions.
Workflow represents the life cycle of a document in the translation process; a sequence of consecutive steps which lead to a desired output.
Workflow steps have a hierarchical structure determined by their order when set up. When a segment is confirmed in a workflow step, it is propagated to a higher workflow step. As long as it remains unconfirmed and unedited, changes to that segment are propagated from the lower workflow step. Once the segment is edited or confirmed in the higher workflow step, changes from the lower workflow steps are not propagated.
The workflow feature enables the design of custom workflow steps for a project and then assign specific Linguists to them. This role is recorded in the linguist's user profile and when a project manager is assigning linguists to new projects, Linguists previously used for a specific workflow step are offered as relevant.
Default Translation, Revision and Client Review steps are pre-defined.
Projects can contain up to 15 workflow steps and once added cannot be removed. The order of the steps is defined in multiples of ten so that if a step is added later, it can be placed between existing steps.
To setup workflow steps, follow these steps:
From the Setup page, scroll down to the section and click on Workflow Steps.
Provide a name, abbreviation, order position and LQA if required.
The step is added to the list.
Final versions of translated files modified outside of Memsource can be added to a job. The addition of a final version to the job maintains the workflow in Memsource.
Enabling file handover adds a file upload field to the final workflow step. Final files can be uploaded at any time, but assigned linguists must upload the final version before setting the job to complete as it would not be editable by them afterwards.
Permissible file sizes are as per Memsource limits.
To set up file handover, follow these steps:
Expand the settings.
Workflow settings displayed.
The last selected workflow step is marked as having. Changing the last selected workflow step always enables file handover for that step.
To add a file for handover, follow these steps:
Assigning Jobs in Workflow Steps
Every active workflow step in a project has a version of the selected job associated with it. Linguists can be assigned to translation and other Linguists to revision with final steps being a Client with Linguist or Guest user rights.
Different translation memories can also be defined for each workflow step and files can be split in all workflow steps, or be split in only one step.
When selecting TMs for projects with workflow, the same translation memories can be selected for all workflow steps, or each workflow step can have its own TM setup.
Linguists assigned in higher steps are automatically notified the moment the job in the previous step is set to. Upon notification, the proofreader starts to work immediately after the translation is completed. If defined, Linguists are notified when the next step is passed or if the job is rejected.
When working with a tight deadline, a revision can be started before the translation is complete but this is to be done cautiously.
If a job has not been completed in the preceding workflow step, the confirmation indicator in the editor is red with the warning message.
The reviser can ignore the warning and carefully go ahead with the revision but only with segments confirmed by the translator. If the reviser changes a segment that has not been confirmed in the preceding workflow step (in this case, translation), changes by the translator will not be propagated to the revision step afterward.
Changes in workflow steps can be provided to anyone involved in the translation chain with a summary of the source and all versions of the translations such as translation, revision, and final review. An HTML table is generated with original text in the first column and a separate column for each workflow step. This summary cannot be shared with providers but the generated HTML file can be downloaded and distributed if required.
To export workflow changes, follow these steps: