Sharing in Memsource primarily means sharing resources between separate organizations in Memsource. Currently, supported features are shared projects and shared jobs. The Automation Widget could to an extent also fall under this category.
Shared projects make it possible for separate organizations in Memsource to collaborate while using their own resources (translation memories, term bases, users...). For instance:
- A corporate Memsource customer can share a project with a translation company
- An MLV (multi-language vendor) can share projects with SLVs (single-language vendors)
- A translation company can share projects with Memsource users with the Team Start account (and not just assign them to Linguist users)
A shared project is a project that is assigned by an organization A (buyer) to an organization B (vendor) in Memsource. "Buyer" and "vendor" are not fixed and only determine the relationship, meaning that for a certain project an organization can act as a buyer while for another it can act as a vendor.
A buyer is an organization with an account in Memsource that can assign projects to other organizations (vendors) in Memsource. This feature is available in Team, Ultimate and Enterprise edition.
A vendor is an organization that can be assigned projects by other organizations (buyers).
A vendor token is needed to establish a connection between the buyer and the vendor. The vendor organization needs to provide their token to the buyer to establish a buyer-vendor connection between the two. The vendor token is located at the top of the vendor organization's Setup page in Memsource. The Buyer will use this Vendor token to create a new Vendor in Setup > Vendor.
Shared projects are available in all of our paid editions.
Who Can Act as Buyer
Organizations with the following editions can act as buyers:
Who Can Act as Vendor
Organizations with the following editions can act as vendors:
- Team Start
- The buyer should ask the vendor organization for their vendor token.
- After receiving the token from the vendor, the buyer organization can go ahead and add the new vendor to their vendor list under Setup - Vendors, using the token.
- The buyer can now start sharing projects with the vendor.
- A distinct shared project icon is displayed for shared projects.
- The vendor can now assign jobs to Linguists.
Once the buyer organization creates a new vendor and so effectively creates the vendor-buyer relationship, a Buyers list will be displayed for the vendor organization under Setup. The connected buyer organizations will be listed there and the vendor will be able to select a default project owner for each buyer. This is important because all email notifications are sent to project owners. As a matter of fact, a shared project has always two project owners: the buyer project owner and the vendor project owner.
It is now also possible to transfer the project ownership from vendor to buyer if it is the vendor who needs to create a project and then shares it ex-post with a buyer.
An email notification is sent automatically:
- To the vendor project owner when a project is assigned to them by the buyer.
- To the buyer project owner when the status of the shared project is changed by the vendor.
Our philosophy has been to provide a fairly open framework for collaboration that is based on mutual trust between the buyer and the vendor. In general, the buyer has a bigger say than the vendor but both can do quite a lot. We also prefer not to "lock" any actions and instead make it possible to revert any unwanted actions (e.g. mistakenly deleted jobs can be recovered from the recycle bin).
- While preparing a shared project (and before it gets shared), the buyer project manager is not restricted in any specific way
- Once the project has been assigned to a vendor, there are some limitations, however. Most importantly, the buyer may not:
- Unselect any vendor TMs/TBs that the vendor has added to the TMs/TBs already selected by the buyer
- The buyer is not able to see names of vendor linguists
The vendor may not:
- Delete a shared project
- Modify project machine translation settings
- Edit, Export or Unselect buyer TMs/TBs
The vendor is allowed to carry out most project management tasks, such as:
- Create/edit/delete jobs, analyses and reference files
- Split/pre-translate/download jobs
- Add subsequent workflow steps (Vendor workflow steps need to have higher hierarchical order)
- Assign vendor linguists to jobs
- Add vendor TMs
- And even share jobs with other vendors
- When a vendor deletes an item in a shared project, both the buyer and vendor will be able to undelete it from the recycle bin.
- When a buyer deletes an item in a shared project, only the buyer will be able to undelete it.
The relevant vendors feature works just like the relevant linguists feature.
Transferring Project from Vendor to Buyer
The typical scenario when a buyer and a vendor collaborate in Memsource is that the buyer will initiate a project and then share it with the vendor. However, there are a number of instances when it is the vendor who initiates the project and then needs to turn it into a shared project ex-post. With this feature, an existing project created by a vendor can be turned into a shared project owned by the buyer and shared with the vendor. Once transferred, the buyer will be notified of the new shared project. This feature is only available to organizations that have provided their vendor token to at least one buyer. If this is the case, they will be able to see the buyer list under Setup – Buyers.
The introduction of shared jobs was the next logical step after the introduction of shared projects. Shared projects work really well if a project is shared with a single external vendor. When multiple vendors need to be used for a project, the solution is to use shared jobs. For instance:
- A corporate Memsource customer (buyer) can share jobs within a project with multiple vendors (different vendors are responsible for different target languages).
- Or, a buyer can pick a lead vendor and share the project to them, while the lead vendor selects to work multiple sub vendors and uses shared jobs for them (a combination of shared project + shared jobs in the same project)
- An MLV (multi-language vendor) can assign jobs to SLVs (single-language vendors), again based on target language specialization typically
Shared jobs availability is identical to shared projects availability.
- The buyer should ask the vendor organization for their vendor token.
- After receiving the token from the vendor, the buyer organization can go ahead and add the new vendor in their vendor list under Setup - Vendors, using the token.
- The buyer can now start sharing jobs with the vendor by simply editing a job and assigning it to the vendor (in the same way as jobs are assigned to linguists).
- Jobs assigned to a vendor are displayed in the same way as jobs assigned to linguists. A tooltip indicates whether a job is assigned to a vendor or to a linguist.
Shared jobs are much more buyer-driven. And so vendor rights in a shared job are quite limited in comparison to shared projects where vendors enjoy almost all project management rights.
- The buyer has full project management rights in a shared project.
- The buyer is, however, not able to see names of vendor linguists.
The vendor rights are quite limited in a shared job. The vendor may:
- Add your own Memsource TM
- Add your own Memsource TB
- Split and join jobs
- Create analyses
- Assign shared jobs to vendor's linguists
- The vendor may not delete jobs, delete analyses that were not created by the vendor, change project's translation memory and term base settings, edit or export TMs / TBs.