Project Management

Differences Between a Shared Job and a Shared Project

Shared Job

A shared job is a type of job that is assigned to one organization from another. This is different from a shared project in that the Vendor can only see their job within the project. In a shared project, the vendor can see all jobs within that project. When the Buyer organization shares a job, a new project will appear in the Vendor organization’s account as if it was directly created in it.

Inside the project, the Vendor is able to see the Project Overview. However, only the assigned jobs will be visible within the project, even if the Buyer’s project contains more.

As a Vendor, you will also notice that the Edit, Save as, Share, and Delete buttons are not available. This is because in the Shared Job scenario, Vendors are not allowed to change any of the Project Settings. 

In the Shared Job scenario, the Vendor functions similar to a Linguist user but has some additional Project Management rights (the ability to assign jobs to their own Linguists, attach additional translation memories and term bases, run an analysis, etc.)

Shared Project

In this type of sharing, the organization’s Project Manager shares the whole project and provides additional rights to the Vendor’s Project Manager (as opposed to in the Shared Job scenario).

Also, Shared Projects can be distinguished by a different icon in the Project header.

In this scenario, the Buyer and the Vendor's views are the same. The Project Settings are also shared, and if any of the parties changes an option within the scope of the Shared Project, the changes are applied across the entire supply chain. This does not apply to Machine Translation settings, since these can only be defined by the Buyer.

Like in the Shared Job scenario, the Vendor’s Project Manager can assign internal resources (Linguists, Translation Memories, etc.). In addition to this, Vendors can attach their own internal Workflow steps to comply with the internal processes set up within the organization. These, however, need to have a higher hierarchical order than the steps existing in the project and those set up by the Buyer. Otherwise, these would fall into the same category as the Buyer’s Workflow steps and the Vendor would not be able to select them. Please note that Workflow Steps are only available in some Memsource editions.