Project managers and administrators can prevent linguists from editing source in editors or via our UI or API. The option Linguists may edit source (selected by default) is located in the Access and Security section in the project as well as global settings. If the option is deselected, linguists are not allowed to:
- Edit source in the Desktop Editor or Web Editor - when pressing F2, "Source edits disabled by project owner." message is displayed.
- Upload bilingual MXLIFF or DOCX files including any source modification in the Cloud UI, API, Desktop Editor or Web Editor - "Source edits prohibited by project owner. Upload failed." message is displayed when attempting to do so.
- Joining and splitting segments also count as source modification that will be prohibited.