Account Management

Roles Available in Memsource

Memsource offers 7 different roles that user accounts can be attributed to. The sections below will provide a brief description of these roles as well as some example use cases for each of the roles. 
To learn more, you can visit our User Management documentation which will provide further descriptions and instructions. 

Administrator

The Administrator is the user that is highest in the hierarchy inside a Memsource account. This means that Administrators are not limited by any user rights restrictions (they can do anything inside the system).

Two of the most notable features of the Administrator are:

  • Administrators are in charge of payments for the Memsource account (as well as any edition changes or upgrades).
  • Administrators also have the ability to white-label the system (e.g add a custom logo).

Administrators and Licensing

Each organization needs to have at least 1 Administrator, but these are completely interchangeable with Project Managers in terms of licensing. That is, if an organization has purchased 3 PM licenses, one of these always needs to be an Administrator. However, other combinations are also possible (1 Administrator and 2 PMs, 2 Administrators and 1 PM, or even 3 Administrators).

Project Manager

Project Manager users are in second in terms of the hierarchy of user rights. These users are in charge of the actual project management (unless the Administrator user also works as a Project Manager). They create or modify projects, manage resources (users, TMs, TBs), and assign them appropriately.

The user rights of Project Managers can be severely restricted by the Administrator (e.g. not allowing certain PMs to delete resources or restricting access and limiting it to specific projects). For more information, you can visit our Project Manager User Rights Customization section.
Even though the Project Managers can have almost the same rights as the Administrator, they still have the following restrictions:

  • They are not allowed to create/edit/delete Administrator users
  • They are not allowed to view and modify some of the settings under Setup:
    • Subscription
    • Custom Logo
    • Domains
    • File Renaming
    • Machine Translation
    • Subdomains

Linguist

Linguists belong to a category of users that do not have any project management rights. This means they are not allowed to create or modify projects, change the setup of translation memories or term bases, or import new jobs into the system. Everything needs to be prepared for Linguist users by either Project Managers or Administrators. Once the projects are created and prepared (TMs and TBs attached), individual jobs can be assigned to Linguists which grants them access to the assignments at hand.

Selecting the Linguist for a given job already grants them access. However, this requires the Linguist to periodically check the designated account in order to see these assignments. Therefore, it is necessary for the PM/Administrator in charge to send out Email notifications about the assignment. It is also possible to monitor the assignments via the Memsource Mobile App.

Linguist user accounts can be given to any person the PM/Administrator sees fit—a translator, reviewer, proofreader, etc. There are no limitations in terms of what role the Linguist user can perform. 

Guest

Guest users are a specific type of user similar to Project Managers, but with restricted access limited by the Client metadata field. When creating a Guest user, it is necessary to specify which Client this user belongs to (or shall have access to). This means that if a Guest user has the Client ABC Client, the Guest user will only be able to see the resources (projects, TMs, and TBs) that have ABC Client specified as well.

Guest user accounts are usually provided to direct clients or other members of the organization who need to have greater access to provide further assistance. For instance, Guest users can be provided to designated representatives who can then provide Terminology checks, TM updates, or final reviews before the assignments are actually taken from the system.

The complete set of privileges and their customizations can be found on our Guest user page.

Submitter

Submitter accounts are an extension of the standard Automation Widget usage. They are typically for clients who regularly submit assignments into the Memsource account and would prefer to have a Client Portal instead of the standard URL link provided by the Automation Widget. 

The Submitter role allows an organization to create a Client Portal (requiring login via a username and password). It is possible to attach multiple Automation Widgets to this portal, thus giving access to several submission interfaces. These can include different types of documents, subject areas, etc. as well as a predefined set of Analytics dashboards. Submitters can then use these portals to:

  • Order new jobs via the attached Automation Widgets
  • View statistics for their projects via the Home Page Dashboards
  • Use the Projects tab for an overview of ongoing or finished projects
  • Download completed files

Sharing

The Sharing feature brings 2 additional roles into the Memsource account: the Buyer and the Vendor.

Buyer

Specific Memsource editions allow the organization's account to operate as a Buyer. This means that the organization can accept Vendor tokens provided by other organizations. Once the Buyer registers another organization as its Vendor, Project Managers can start assigning work to these 3rd party organizations instead of using the in-house resources (Linguists). Buyers can utilize two different scenarios—Shared Jobs and Shared Projects. These are explored in more detail in our article describing the differences between Shared Jobs and Shared Projects.

Vendor

All paid editions of Memsource can function as Vendors. Each of these editions will contain a Vendor token which can be submitted to other organizations (provided this organization can be a Buyer). After the Vendor is registered within the Buyer's account, it is possible for the organizations to share the project environment and collaborate in a transparent environment.

Each of the parties (Buyers and Vendors) will retain full privacy and control over their data. This means that Vendors cannot manipulate, delete or even browse the TMs and TBs of the Buyer, and vice versa. However, Sharing enables the Vendor and its Linguists to use Buyer's resources in the process of the assignment. That is, the Buyer's TM will show appropriate results and will also be updated as the Vendor progresses through the assignment.