Welcome, Guest Login

Support Center

Name is required.
Email address is required.
Invalid email address
Answer is required.
Exceeding max length of 5KB

accents and diacriticals plus Preview

Daniel G Grau Jul 11, 2017 12:07PM CEST

When I enter an accented Spanish character (á é í ó ú ñ etc.) in the table as target, the next character I type causes the accented character to disappear. Plus there's a ghost effect where two or three characters show faintly under the text.

What can be done with the intrusive Preview? I close it, it goes away. Then I enter a single change in the table and it pops right back at me. It should respect its last state! It takes away half of my window.

Safari 10.1.1 under El Capitan 10.11.6

Up 0 rated Down
Jakub Janickovic Jul 11, 2017 12:47PM CEST Memsource Help Center Agent

Dear Daniel,
thank zou for contacting us.
Can you please specify how are you inserting these characters? There are several input methods and we would like to capture all the possibilities. Nevertheless, our technicians are already working on a fix for this problem.
As for the preview, you can completely disable it in Tools menu.

Up 0 rated Down
Daniel G Grau Aug 02, 2017 08:14AM CEST
Even after disabling Preview in Tools, as soon as I do a segment join, the window happily splits again and the Target preview appears, albeit without identifying tabs.

Accents I do as always since 1985: press a dead key that defines the accent, then press the vowel. In fact I've obtained accents here with this method for some years until last month or so.
Up 0 rated Down
Jakub Janickovic Aug 02, 2017 09:17AM CEST Memsource Help Center Agent

Dear Daniel,
the preview not being properly disabled in the Web Editor is a bug on our side, I have already notified our technicians about it.
As for the accepts, we have already started looking into the issue with accents on Mac OS and hopefully it will be resolved soon.

Up 0 rated Down
Jakub Janickovic Aug 02, 2017 01:12PM CEST Memsource Help Center Agent

Dear Daniel,
the issue with Preview has been fixed, now the preview will remain disabled.

Up 0 rated Down
Bruno Veilleux Aug 02, 2017 09:36PM CEST
I also have an issue with accented characters, but a different behavior. Accented characters simply don't get inserted at all, also using the combination of a dead key + letter key (e.g. <`> + <e>).

This is under Firefox 54 on Linux Mint 18.1. Accented characters do work as expected under Midori 0.5.11 so it seems to be browser-specific.
Up 0 rated Down
Jakub Janickovic Aug 03, 2017 08:57AM CEST Memsource Help Center Agent

Dear Bruno,
thank you for letting us know, we were not aware of any issues on Linux.

Up 0 rated Down
Daniel G. Grau Aug 04, 2017 01:57PM CEST
Preview still comes back from the dead. Click on a source cell, hide preview, click on the target column, Preview Resuscitates! Hide it and click on a target cell… you know the rest.
Up 0 rated Down
Jakub Janickovic Aug 04, 2017 02:32PM CEST Memsource Help Center Agent

Dear Daniel,
could you please contact us directly on support@memsource.com?
We would need more details in order to resolve this issue.
Thank you.

Post Your Public Answer

Your name (required)
Your email address (required)
Answer (required)
support@memsource.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete