Welcome, Guest Login

Support Center

Workflow

Last Updated: Aug 29, 2017 08:58AM CEST
Project with Workflow StepsWorkflow represents a life cycle of a document in translation process. In other words, it is a sequence of consecutive steps which lead to a desired output. You can think of each workflow step as a sub-project of sorts, since each workflow step is to some extent independent. On the other hand there is an important hierarchical aspect to Memsource workflow. For instance, revision comes after translation, validation comes after revision, etc. Thus said, it’s important to mind that as soon as a segment gets edited in the higher workflow step, it cannot be overwritten any more from a lower workflow step.

For example: A translator can modify a segment as many time he/she wants and the last version will get propagated to the revision workflow step. However, as soon as a reviser makes an edit in a specific segment, any further changes to that specific segment from a translator will not get propagated. To be precise, the translator will still be able to make changes to the segment but the changes will not be visible to the reviewer in the higher workflow step.

In Memsource, Workflow is supported from the Team edition up. If a project is shared with a Vendor, Workflow steps are preserved according to Project settings.
 

Workflow setup

The definition of workflow steps is entirely arbitrary, although the default workflow steps (in newly created accounts) are:

- Translation
- Revision
- Client Review

You can add new workflow steps or edit existing ones. Currently, a project can have up to 15 workflow steps.

To create a new workflow step, go to Setup -> Workflow Steps -> New.

Create New Workflow Step

To use Workflow in a project, go to Workflow section in Project Settings.
Workflow steps can be added, but they cannot be removed. Only workflow steps with higher hierarchical order can be added to project with existing workflow steps. For example, if you accidentally create a project with the Revision step, you can later add the Client Review step, but you won’t be able to add the Translation step.

Assigning Jobs in Workflow Steps

Once you activate all desired workflow steps for your project (i.e. Translation, Revision, Client Review), 3 versions of your files will live in your project: Translation version, Revision version and Client’s Review version. You will be able to assign linguists who will take care of translation and other linguists who will take care of revision. The final step can be assigned to a Client with Linguist or Guest user rights. You could even assign different translation memories to each workflow step. You can split a file in the translation workflow step but leave it whole in the following workflow steps or split it in all workflow steps.

Assigning TMs in Workflow Steps

When selecting TMs for projects with workflow, the user can decide whether the same translation memories should be selected for all of the project's workflow steps, or whether each workflow step should have its own TM setup.

Email notification

When you assign job in the first workflow step, you can manually notify the linguist by email (using Tools > Email... menu) or you can tick Notify linguists when importing the job to that project.
However linguists assigned in higher steps will be Automatically notified the moment the job in lower step is set to "Completed". In this way, proofreader can start to work immediately after the translation is completed in the lower step.
 

Working with not completed Preceding workflow step

Sometimes when working with a tight deadline, it is desirable to start a Revision even before Translation was completed. Memsource Workflow allows such procedure, however it is necessary to proceed with caution.

If a job has not been completed in the preceding workflow step, the indicator of segments confirmed will be red and a warning message will appear. You can tell by the segment status in Memsource editor whether a segment was confirmed or remained not confirmed in the preceding workflow step. 

Segment status

However, the reviser can ignore the warning and go ahead with the revision. In this case, it is crucial to work only with segments confirmed by the translator. If the reviser changes a segment Not Confirmed in the preceding workflow (Translation), changes by the translator will not be propagated to the Revision step afterwards. To ensure the reviser will work only on segments Confirmed in the preceding step, he/she can select (under File - Preferences) to jump to the "Next segment confirmed in the preceding workflow step" after confirming a segment.

Another possibility, and a safer approach, for simultaneous translating and revising would be splitting a file into smaller parts in all workflow steps. A reviser would start only after a certain part would be Completed by Linguist.
 

Higher to Lower Workflow step propagation

Technically such propagation is not possible as said before but Memsource can be “tricked”. If you need translator’s approval of changes made by a reviser, you can set up a workflow with 3 steps, e.g.:

1. Translation – hierarchical order 10
2. Revision – hierarchical order 20
3. Translator's revision – hierarchical order 30

A translator will be assigned to Workflow steps no. 1 and 3. With this setup, the revision goes "back" to the translator in a way. In the third step, he will be able to see reviser’s comments and corrections he would not see in his/her initial step.
support@memsource.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete